Women Handball World Championship 1968 Soviet Union 16-24.11 suspended
On 30.08 IHF suspended the tournament due to Soviet invasion in Czechoslovakia.
Qualification - Europe Qual Women 1968 - 5 teams.
Hungary - Champion, Soviet Union - Host and West Germany - by draw, were pre-qualified.
Japan was the only team outside Europe!
Draw pots were distributed as Ranking of World Championship Women 1965.
Soviet Union and East Germany were in pot 3, because they did not play in 1965 championship.
Group Apot1965
Soviet Union3.
Group Bpot1965
East Germany3.
Group Cpot1965
West Germany1.3.
In December Soviet Union organised a tournament called "As strong as World Championship".
4 teams qualifed to World 1968, Soviet Union, East Germany, Hungary and Romania played.
Final Rankingptswdlgfgans
1. Soviet Union941067:36
2. East Germany941061:37
3. Hungary630244:44
4. Poland420332:511
5. Romania210446:55
6. Bulgaria000524:511
Soviet Union----7:714:716:616:1114:5
East Germany ----13:914:88:719:6
Hungary ----11:710:77:3
Poland ----11:10bt
Romania ----11:10
Bulgaria ----
dateteam 1scoreteam 2HT
Played at Luzhniki-Sportpalast, Moskva
17.12POL PolandbtBUL Bulgaria
17.12GDR East Germany13-9HUN Hungary
17.12URS Soviet Union16-11ROU Romania
18.12HUN Hungary10-7ROU Romania
18.12GDR East Germany19-6BUL Bulgaria
18.12URS Soviet Union16-6POL Poland10-4
19.12ROU Romania11-10BUL Bulgaria5-5
19.12GDR East Germany14-8POL Poland
19.12URS Soviet Union14-7HUN Hungary9-4
21.12GDR East Germany8-7ROU Romania1-3
21.12HUN Hungary11-7POL Poland
21.12URS Soviet Union14-5BUL Bulgaria
22.12POL Poland11-10ROU Romania
22.12HUN Hungary7-3BUL Bulgaria
22.12URS Soviet Union7-7GDR East Germany3-6
Olympic indexWorld index
Europe indexAmerica index
Africa indexAsia index
Oceania indexEurope Qual index
Euro Cups index
World Cup indexOther index
Handball indexTodor66
index Women
XXV Women 2021 _______
XXIV Women 2019 Japan
XXIII Women 2017 Germany
XXII Women 2015 Denmark
XXI Women 2013 Serbia
XX Women 2011 Brazil
XIX Women 2009 China
XVIII Women 2007 France
XVII Women 2005 Russia
XVI Women 2003 Croatia
XV Women 2001 Italy
XIV Women 1999 Norway
XIII Women 1997 Germany
XII Women 1995 AUT,HUN
XI Women 1993 Norway
X Women 1990 South Korea
IX Women 1986 Netherlands
VIII Women 1982 Hungary
VII Women 1978 Czechoslovakia
VI Women 1975 Soviet Union
V Women 1973 Yugoslavia
IV Women 1971 Netherlands
_Women 1968 Soviet Union
III Women 1965 West Germany
II Women 1962 Romania
I Women 1957 Yugoslavia
Qualification Women WQ 2015

Prepared and maintained by Todor Krastev

Last updated: 19 Dec 2021
Facebook Todor Krastev